A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Not a Rock Star

with 2 comments

 

Not a Rockstar

Not a Rock Star

I was either in grade school or junior high when I took guitar lessons, which was a long time ago. If I remember correctly it didn’t last too long. The cost was beginning to be prohibitive, I was starting to lust for an expensive electric guitar and my parents had had enough of my slow developing talent. So, I never made it as a rock star and that probably was good thing. 

I will admit to enjoying it while it lasted and probably wasn’t too bad. I remember the pain of acquiring calluses on my fingers and wondering if my fingers would ever stretch to play some of those chords. Later on in high school I jammed with my best friend, Lyle, who was quite good at the guitar. Then sometime during my marriage, my wife wanted to take guitar lessons so a guitar was purchased.  I kept it after the divorce and would strum a few chords now and then. But, I never made it as a rock star and that probably was good thing. 

Our newest roommate is learning to play the guitar. She reminds me of those early attempts, talking to myself when I screwed up while those around were listening and learning what patience really means. One day I picked up her guitar and strummed a few chords. Surprisingly I remembered some of those chords and I smiled. 🙂 However, my fingers quickly became tender and I remembered those feelings also.  Ya know, I never made it as a rock star and that probably was good thing.

Written by Monte Stevens

April 1, 2009 at 12:01 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is a great essay. Love the sentiment and progression from youth through maturity. You might not have made it as a rock star…but you have a good shot at being a songwriter.

    QPB

    April 1, 2009 at 7:07 pm

  2. Like the photo, but like your comments even better. You bring back some of the struggles of my youth (woodwinds in my case). Thanks for the memories.

    Opa Wayne

    April 1, 2009 at 11:06 pm


Leave a Reply

