A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Hidden Bench

with 3 comments

In the background

In the background

While walking in a park in Savannah I was drawn to a vine entwined metal archway. I was not satisfied with any of my images. Something was missing. As I started to leave I noticed the bench in the background. My mind then envisioned the scene you see above. I shortened my DOF and moved in closer to the archway, eliminating it. I like this image as it is no longer a snapshot but pulls the two subjects together and removes the busy street scene in the background. Please let me know what this scene says to you.

Written by Monte Stevens

October 7, 2009 at 12:01 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Just inside, a peaceful place to sit, rest and reflect” is what this photo says to me.

    Monte, it sounds like the creative process you went through to compose this scene may have been as meaningful to you as the photo itself! 🙂

    Earl

    October 7, 2009 at 10:58 am

  2. I agree with Earl, something drew you back, you “saw” something and made a image the way you “saw it” not as others do and pass it by.

    Don

    October 7, 2009 at 3:58 pm

  3. @Earl: Yes, the creative process.

    @Don: Each day we see things anew.

    Monte Stevens

    October 8, 2009 at 8:30 am


Leave a Reply

