A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Handmade

with 3 comments

Savannah Rose

Savannah Rose

I spent some time just watching and talking with this gentleman while he made his Savannah Rose. They are made from banana or palm leaves and can range in a variety of green and yellow shades. Along River Street in Savannah you will encounter many of these craftsmen, working with their hands to create art. I admire individuals who work and create with their hands. We live in a culture when most of what we purchase is machine manufactured. When I think about it our clothing, shoes, watch, sunglasses, etc., are all manufactured by machinery. What was the last thing you purchase that was handmade?

Written by Monte Stevens

October 26, 2009 at 12:01 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I believe the last hand made thing I knowingly purchased was a leather belt. Of course you can’t be sure that some of the stuff you purchase these days isn’t handmade in some sweatshop over seas. 🙂

    Earl

    October 26, 2009 at 9:59 am

  2. That’s really kind of neat, Monte. Its been awhile for me too since I’ve purchased something handmade–I make a lot things myself, but I’ve not purchased anything I can think of.

    QPB

    October 26, 2009 at 8:23 pm

  3. I think about this frequently. Handmade is rare in our lives and that’s a shame. Your photo certainly tells the story effectively. Excellent choice.

    Anita Jesse

    October 28, 2009 at 5:58 pm


Leave a Reply

