A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Chasing Shadows

with 6 comments

20091024-_DSC6641-Edit

Shadows on the Court

I find myself walking around with camera in hand, searching for what is unseen. The unseen is often always visible, just not seen. I can overlook the obvious unless I slow down, look from within. When I do look those shadows, lines and textures will shout for my attention then I see. Today I chased shadows.

Written by Monte Stevens

November 1, 2009 at 12:01 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s pretty cool and psychologically relevant. Here, the shadow removes the glare and lets us see through to the other side! Excellent!

    Paul

    November 1, 2009 at 9:28 am

  2. Very cool image Monte. I like it. Particularly the ability to clearly see the chain links in the shadow.

    drewfulton

    November 1, 2009 at 9:46 am

  3. “The unseen is often always visible, just not seen.”

    You hit it. Thinking and creativity.

    Don

    November 1, 2009 at 1:25 pm

  4. I frequently find the shadow of more intrest than the thing its self. Great job!

    Steve Skinner

    November 1, 2009 at 2:44 pm

  5. @Paul: thanks! I did not notice how the shadow allowed the viewer to see through the screen. Pretty cool!

    @ Drew: Thats what really makes the image.

    @Don and Steve: Thanks!

    Monte Stevens

    November 1, 2009 at 3:17 pm

  6. Count me as another realizing that I probably wouldn’t have looked twice at the object itself; yet, I am drawn to the shadow with its simplicity of form. All those diagonals, anchored by the horizontal base, then topped with the representation of the circle keep me moving around happily exploring the treats here.

    Anita Jesse

    November 2, 2009 at 3:02 pm


Leave a Reply

