A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

I can wait, maybe…

with 6 comments

Lamp and Shadows

Here’s my story. So, I leave the coffee shop after a small mocha latte and a half cup of coffee. I knew I should use the restroom before I leave but because I was in a hurry I decided against it. (Did you notice all the “I’s” in that sentence? Sometimes it’s not such a good idea to listen to a caffeinated person.) Anyway, traffic back to the apartment was no problem but the beautiful sunshine was. I walk into the apartment and discovered the room filled with bright sunlight. Now we’ve just had gray skies and rain for the last 2 days so I am a bit excited. All I can see is the sunlight coming in on the lamp and casting its shadow on the wall. I tell myself I can wait! I imagine it was comical to watch me dance in the middle of the living room, grabbing my camera out of my bag and firing off a dozen shots and chimping to make sure there are not blown highlights. Got it! I put the camera down and off the to restroom I go. Oh, the decisions a photographer makes when good light appears. Anyone else have to make tough decisions like that?

Written by Monte Stevens

December 6, 2009 at 12:01 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Been there a time or two!

    Steve Skinner

    December 6, 2009 at 5:52 pm

  2. LOL! That’s a bit too dedicated, but I’ve done it. I think that we know how fleeting those moments can be so we make sure to capture them even if it will be a bit inconvenient!

    Paul L.

    December 7, 2009 at 12:44 pm

  3. This one made me howl with recognition. Indeed, the situations we sometimes create for ourselves!

    Anita Jesse

    December 10, 2009 at 6:58 pm

  4. @Anita: LOL You made me smile with your comments!!!! More of that dancing your do.

    Monte Stevens

    December 10, 2009 at 9:59 pm

  5. There’s a wonderful crispness to your writing and your images. Crispness as well as peace.

    Chris Klug

    December 11, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    • Thanks, Chris. I’ve never had anyone say that about my writing. Have to think about that, chew on it.

      Monte Stevens

      December 11, 2009 at 11:18 pm


Leave a Reply

