A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Cameras I’ve owned

with 6 comments

Lost in Thoughts

Paul Lester had an interesting post about the cameras he has owned. The post started an interesting thread so I decided to follow suit and list the cameras I’ve owned. I was surprised at how many cameras there have been. I’m also surprised I can’t remember what the brands and models of some of them were. Getting older!

  1. Yashika Twin-lens reflex – Not sure what model it was (124) or how I received it. I shot black and white film and developed it in my dad’s basement with the help of a man who I worked for.
  2. A Pentax or Canaon 35mm SLR bought in 1970. Strange I can’t remember what it was. Anyway I sold it and the Yashika TLR, when my wife and I needed to purchase a washer/dryer for the our first house.
  3. Nikon EM – bought partly because of the all black body. 🙂 Still have it but it doesn’t work.
  4. Nikon FG – another nice simple camera.
  5. Nikon FE2 – wish I still had this one.
  6. Nikon N70 – never did like this one for some reason
  7. Nikon N80 – shot my first weddings with this one and actually owned two.
  8. Nikon D100 – my introduction into digital (Loved it) and still have both of them
  9. Nikon D300 – Have no desire to move on to another one, yet. I do keep up on the latest and greatest, so I’m known to fall prey to “camera body lust.”

Not sure why the draw to Nikon. I sometimes think I would rather have worked into the Canon world as I feel they have a more appealing range of lens to change from and a nicer price. Thanks for your interesting post, Paul.

Written by Monte Stevens

January 25, 2010 at 12:01 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very interesting. I will have to try this myself. I know I’ve had more digital cams than film.

    Faye

    January 25, 2010 at 8:13 am

  2. Interesting history, Monte, especially the part about having to sell a camera to buy a washer/dryer. I’ve never had to sacrifice any of my camera equipment other than to buy different equipment. Ouch. I could do it, but wouldn’t want to.

    Of the cameras that I sold, I only miss one, really. I miss the Yashica Mat 124G. I really liked that old looking, square format beast. It sure was a conversation starter, especially in this digital age. I started almost as many conversations as the view cameras!

    Paul

    January 25, 2010 at 8:42 am

    • Yes, I felt it was necessary at the time and would probably do it again. I also remember one more camera, the Nikon FG. That was another nice film camera and wish I had it.

      Monte Stevens

      January 25, 2010 at 4:26 pm

  3. Pauls post was great it brought back many memories of cameras I have owned. I put my list in his comment section. I too am drawn to Nikons and don’t know why.

    Don

    January 25, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    • Yes, I saw your list on Paul’s post. I’m not really sure how I managed to get into Nikons. I’ve not regretted it as they do make some nice cameras and lens. But, if I was to lose my gear due to fire or theft, I would consider Canon. One factor I would have to make is the feel of the camera in my hand. The Canon 10d and 20d do not feel comfortable in my hands. Have not tried any others.

      Monte Stevens

      January 25, 2010 at 4:29 pm


Leave a Reply

