A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Practicing

with 2 comments

Self

My self portraits are not about me. I use myself as a model for practice whenever I have an idea or want to try something out. It sure would be easier if I had a model and stayed behind the camera but sometimes I need to be both in front of an behind the lens. Sure slows me down. In this image I’m practicing off camera flash units and ambient light. I then worked on some post work in Lightroom just to see what I could come up with.

Written by Monte Stevens

January 29, 2010 at 12:01 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting. I have to admit that while I have the capability of doing off-camera flash, I’ve never done it. I rarely shoot indoors. When I do, I usually have to reread the flash manual! Or just use a much higher ISO setting.

    I have to ask – Is the bright bar (window?) behind you intentional? Did it affect the flash setting?

    Paul Maxim

    January 29, 2010 at 9:06 am

    • Yes, it was intentional. Everything was done in manual mode wiht flash set to one stop below and through an umbrella.

      Monte Stevens

      January 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm


Leave a Reply

