A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

A Sunday Story: The Purchase

with 10 comments

This is the first of a series of short stories about a pen. It is an idea conceived by Faye White when she made a comment on one of my posts. We have agreed to come up with four stories about a pen and it’s travels. Strange story you may say, but hopefully entertaining. For me, the pen in these four stories has a encounter with someone. It’s task is to empower those who use it to bring their ideas, thoughts, dreams and visions on paper. I intend to post each story on four consecutive Sundays. I also encourage you to visit and enjoy Faye’s story here. Leave us comments to let us know you stopped by, we’d appreciate it.

The Pen

This story begins when a young business man walks into a small gift shop called the Pen and Prose located in Reagan National Airport. Just inside the entrance to the small shop was a tall glass display case filled with pens and mechanical pencils. The lighting and presentation of the display was very attractive, drawing the attention of the casual traveler to the wide assortment of writing instruments. However, the beauty and elegance of one of the pens caught the young mans attention. It was so elegant, something he had never thought of owning. He wandered around the store for awhile, not really looking to buy anything, but lingering near the pen. He stopped to look once more before leaving the store then asked to see the pen. Yes, it felt good in his hands. The weight of the pen allowed the roller tip to easily move across the paper and that dark black ink popped on the page. Now that it was in his hand he knew he would have a difficult time putting it down. Even though the price was more than he wanted to spend, the pen had found it’s first owner.

The Meeting

He would take it to todays meeting, jotting down notes, listing ideas and helping the customer set their goals to be successful. The pens large silver body and gold trim gave it a look of importance and also caught the eye of his client. When his client asked about the pen it allowed any walls between them to come down and opened up the way for a successful meeting.

Later that evening back at the hotel, he would use the pen to journal about the day. It felt good to write with this pen and he was thankful he purchased it. He felt good. It had been a good day!

Written by Monte Stevens

January 31, 2010 at 12:01 am

Posted in A Sunday Story, The Pen

Tagged with , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Big smile here! Fab story Monte; I look forward to more. 🙂

    Faye

    January 31, 2010 at 11:04 am

    • Thanks, Faye. I’m hoping to write one each week and post it on consecutive Sundays. I’m glad you envisioned this opportunity for these short stories and also glad we took the steps. I know some will not like my stories because of thier content or my poor writing skills. However, I would hope they give positive feedback. I also think it’s cool if it inspires them to write thier own. Hope your foot is healing and glad you smiled. Probably because of the drugs you’re on or because I finally published the first one! LOL

      Monte Stevens

      January 31, 2010 at 11:14 am

  2. Monte, I think this is a wonderful exercise and I’m enjoying the results! I’ll also be heading over to Faye’s site.

    Earl

    January 31, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    • Thanks, Earl. It’s forcing me to step outside my comfort zone, way outside! Hope you enjoy Faye’s story, she came up with it. Any feedback about the story content or lack of my writing skills is appreciated.

      Monte Stevens

      January 31, 2010 at 6:10 pm

  3. Good story and thank you for linking Fayes, just great.

    Don

    PS-the comment the other day was meant as a compliment, sorry.

    Don

    January 31, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    • I had to go back and look at your comments to see what you were referring to, it upset me that much and couldn’t find one. 🙂 So, I guess I took your comments as complimentary. So far, any comments on this blog are going to be accepted as complementary. Keep coming back and giving me feedback, I so need to hear constructive feedback, my friend.

      Monte Stevens

      February 1, 2010 at 2:40 pm

  4. Monte, Great story! I can’t wait for the next installment.

    Steve Skinner

    January 31, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    • Thanks, Steve! I hope they all can be enjoyable for someone.

      Monte Stevens

      February 1, 2010 at 2:34 pm

  5. Monte,
    This is a great start. I remember when you insisted that I write blogs and I thought it was “outside my comfort zone”. You gently pushed anyway. You have talent my friend. Keep it going.

    opa

    February 1, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    • Thank you, my friend. We never know what lies within us unless we look within, which is so simple. You and I know we cannot walk the path unless we take the steps: one foot in front of the other, then repeat as necessary. 🙂

      Monte Stevens

      February 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm


Leave a Reply

