A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Amidst the Fog

with 7 comments

Standing Amidst the Fog

Fog is an instrument nature uses to create one of its beautiful emotive scene. As a nature photographer we can take this same tool to make our images. Fog acts as a natural soft box, scattering light and reducing contrast. I’ve learned to expose for the the fog and not the subject, very similar to snowfall. As I headed for the coffee shop, I remembered the isolated trees in the open field and actually saw this image in my mind. It was not quite what I had envisioned but it works for me.

Written by Monte Stevens

February 24, 2010 at 12:01 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It works for me too – very dreamy image.

    Faye

    February 24, 2010 at 7:22 am

    • Thanks, Faye. A couple hours later and this scene was gone. Nature never stops creating, why should we?

      Monte Stevens

      February 24, 2010 at 3:08 pm

  2. I’m with you on that. There was fog here yesterday. I took a few shots on the way to work. It was a little less dense than I would have liked it, but it was beautiful nonetheless.

    I love these types of scenes. Fog cuts out so much clutter.

    Paul

    February 24, 2010 at 7:47 am

  3. Monte, a wonderful image. I love minimal photos, such as this, but for some reason I don’t make many of that type myself — some future work to be done there no doubt. Isn’t amazing what you can learn about yourself with photography. Love the photo!

    Earl

    February 24, 2010 at 10:00 am

  4. The word vision comes to mind. How far does our vision reach? Do we see with a macro or a wide angle of a telephoto? What we see through our viewfinder tells much about what we see the world. It seems that some days I see more than others.

    Monte Stevens

    February 24, 2010 at 3:12 pm

  5. Outstanding Monte

    Ray Ketcham

    February 25, 2010 at 12:28 am


Leave a Reply

