A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Lake Loveland

with 16 comments

Lake Loveland

I stopped by Lake Loveland with this image in mind. I am standing at a boat launching dock and looking west towards the Rocky Mountains. The taller of the two peaks in the distance are Longs Peak in the park. I was raised just to the south of this image about six blocks. When I was a young kid we would ride our bikes up to the lake and fish for crappie. It’s  difficult to see but there are ice fishermen out on the lake.

Written by Monte Stevens

March 5, 2010 at 12:01 am

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Last time I was at that spot the water was blue instead of white. Like the way you framed this with the branches and shadows Monte.

    Ray Ketcham

    March 5, 2010 at 12:26 am

    • I prefer the blue over the white. It’s also easier to meter. 🙂 Have a great weekend, Ray.

      Monte Stevens

      March 5, 2010 at 8:53 am

  2. It certainly looks a good place to be raised. This idea of ice fishing baffles me, ordinary fishing I have no problem with but sitting out on the ICE for hours…brrrrrr!

    Ann Courtney

    March 5, 2010 at 3:34 am

    • Ice fishing is not my thing, either. I enjoyed fly fishing much more.

      Monte Stevens

      March 5, 2010 at 8:46 am

  3. Very beautiful Monte. I am guessing these trips home make you miss Colorado–those mountains are spectacular.

    Hope you are well. ma

    QPB (Mary Ann)

    March 5, 2010 at 6:52 am

    • Wow, is it ever good to see your comment, again. Seems like ages since you roamed around or posted ony images. Hope all is well with you!

      Monte Stevens

      March 5, 2010 at 8:48 am

  4. Lovely photo, Monte. It must of been nice growing up so close to a lake. I could imagine all kinds of adventures friends could have in a situation such as that. The best we could do as kids were some local streams and small ponds. Have a good weekend my friend!

    Earl

    March 5, 2010 at 10:09 am

  5. Gorgeous viewpoint… stay warm!

    Faye White

    March 5, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    • It has been so nice here but today is overcast with a few snowflakes eraly this morning. But, I am warm. Have a super day!!!

      Monte Stevens

      March 5, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  6. Beautiful area and a great shot, have a good weekend

    Don

    Don

    March 5, 2010 at 1:37 pm

  7. Hi Monte,

    Great shot. I especially like the tree branches showing, and their shadows. I seldom see mountains like this, so it’s a treat for me.
    Have a great weekend.

    Alan

    alancollopyphoto

    March 5, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    • That’s what I miss about Colorado. The East Coast has so few wide dynamic vista unless it’s along the coastline, which I would love to see more often.

      Monte Stevens

      March 5, 2010 at 8:48 pm

  8. I never tire of mountain views! I think that it would have been fantastic to grow up on Colorado in the shadow of the mountains. I’m not so sure about that ice fishin’, though!

    Paul

    March 6, 2010 at 8:59 am


Leave a Reply

