A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

Spring is Coming

with 10 comments

New growth and old berries

My apartment building is shaped like a horseshoe with a small grass courtyard. Within the courtyard are a half dozen small trees. They provide no shade and are popular with robins in all seasons. I have enjoyed sitting in my comfy chair during the winter and watch as the robins puff up their feathers to keep warm and snatch a berry once in a while. This particular afternoon, as I waited on my laundry, I noticed new growth is starting and seems to be in contrast to the shriveled up berries. So, out came the macro lens and the tripod. Yea, man, Spring is coming!

I will be in Canada again tonight for work. Yesterday morning we woke to a light dusting of snow and needed to de-ice the aircraft. But I know Spring is coming!!!! I just know it!!

Written by Monte Stevens

March 25, 2010 at 12:01 am

Posted in Plants/Nature, seasons

Tagged with

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great shot. Safe travels with your flying.

    slamdunk

    March 25, 2010 at 12:12 am

    • Thanks for stopping by and yes, I’ll do my best during the flying.

      Monte Stevens

      March 25, 2010 at 8:30 pm

  2. Monte, interesting contrast between the old berries and the new leaves. Spring has to be on it’s way there because it’s for sure arrived here.

    Earl

    March 25, 2010 at 8:20 am

    • Yes, I’ve noticed the trees are taking on color as we fly over them.

      Monte Stevens

      March 25, 2010 at 8:30 pm

  3. What a fascinating photo. That swatch of green forming part of the background for the berries makes this feel like a painting. I love this composition. Beautifully seen.

    We have had freezes the last two nights, but the daffodils are not to be deterred.

    Anita Jesse

    March 25, 2010 at 11:31 am

    • That swatch of green is actually grass between the tree limbs. Gives it a cool effect, IMHO. Plants are hardy and survive in some harsh conditions.

      Monte Stevens

      March 25, 2010 at 8:32 pm

  4. Let’s hear it for Spring! Hip! Hip! Hooray! It’s nice to have a comfy chair from which to sit and watch the world go by. šŸ™‚

    Paul

    March 25, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    • You sound a bit excited, too. I think I’m going to enjoy Spring a lot this year.

      Monte Stevens

      March 25, 2010 at 8:34 pm

  5. Held within those berrries are the seeds of a new generation.

    Steve Skinner

    March 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    • You are so right. In nature the dying off of one life presents the future for another.

      Monte Stevens

      March 25, 2010 at 8:35 pm


Leave a Reply

