A Photoblog by Monte Stevens

A place for my photos and random thoughts

One shot

with 5 comments

Hiding

While visiting Blendon Woods Park I walked to the observatory buildings near Thoreau Lake to see what waterfowl were on the lake. I noticed movement just below a bird feeder located off to the side of observatory. I waited a while before this raptor made a quick and short appearance. I’m not sure but I think he was searching for the squirrels that feed along the base of the bird feeder. I got off one shot and here it is.

Written by Monte Stevens

April 7, 2010 at 12:01 am

Posted in Avian

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful shot, Monte. You took full advantage of the opportunity you were presented in capturing this image.

    Earl

    April 7, 2010 at 9:03 am

    • Tanks, Earl. It’s not the best shot but all I have. It is so true that we sometimes have to wait long hours and put in lots of preparation to get good photos.

      Monte Stevens

      April 7, 2010 at 7:41 pm

  2. Nice shot, it appears to me to be a Merlin from the falcon family.

    Don

    April 7, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    • Sounds good to me. I really wish I knew my subjects better, whether that’s a flower, insect, or whatever.

      Monte Stevens

      April 7, 2010 at 7:42 pm

  3. Excellent, Monte. I love to see raptors, especially soaring through the skies and perched in the trees behind my house. 🙂

    Paul

    April 8, 2010 at 4:47 pm


Leave a Reply

